top of page

The Horrors of Social Media

I think the worst part about social media is when it makes you feel like throwing everything out the window to look like one of the photoshopped models. As someone who was very close to having an eating disorder, it’s so hard not to slip back into unhealthy habits.



I knew I was underweight and I knew it was unhealthy and I knew I had to change, but somehow it was still so easy to skip a meal because “I didn’t feel hungry” or “I didn’t feel the need to eat.” I’m finally at a weight that’s healthy and I have a little bit of a stomach, and I love my little pouch because it shows signs of my progress... but scrolling on Instagram and seeing all these girls posting bikini pictures with their perfect flat stomachs and toned bodies.. just makes me want to skip a meal here or there.


It makes me sad to know that it’s just as little as a picture to help me throw away all that I’ve worked for or wanted. There are so many people out there that fall into the same boat, and I just want to say that it will never not be easy to avoid how these models make you feel. But it will get easier to love your body for you and something that is completely natural. It’s okay to need a different size, it’s okay to gain weight, it’s okay to have stretch marks. It is not okay to criticize every transformation your body goes through. It is not okay to skip a meal here or there because “I need to fit into that pair of jeans.”


Take care of what you were given and don’t mistreat it in any way. Don’t over-nourish as well as under-nourish. You don’t want to overwater or underwater your plants because they end up dying, your body is the same. Treat it well. Eat that snack and don’t forget to go on that walk. Love you all, we are all in this journey together💕

Comments


bottom of page